Best of 2016

2016 has come to a close so it’s time for an annual review of my contest wins….drum roll please….

I won 74 contests, worth close to $17,000 in value, last year! This brings my total to over $113,000 since I first started in 2010!

2016-collage

As 2017 begins, I thought I would reflect upon my most memorable experiences from the past year.

January: After the holidays, this is usually the slowest contesting month of the year but I added more makeup to the prize box and got an education in the luxury wedding industry by attending the WedLuxe show at the Carlu.

February: Any event with all-you-can-eat oysters is a gem so the Notable Awards After Party exceeded expectations. It’s always nice to walk around the Canadian International Auto Show…unfortunately I didn’t win a car!

March: Sitting front row at Roy Thomson Hall to watch David Garrett was awesome! More random wins for the prize box included facial products, a purse, gift cards, a sweater and a few others. I ended the month by attending one of Dave Lackie’s beauty dinners. You always get a 3 course meal and free products. It’s amazing!

April: A month’s supply of coconut water is random but I’ll take it! Gift card wins included Starbucks, Boston Pizza and Ticketmaster.

May: A private Haunted Walk Tour for 15 people in the Distillery District was a delightful outing! However, the highlight of the month was receiving amazing seats to watch the Raptors beat Cleveland in Game 4 of the Eastern Conference Finals. The loudest I’ve ever heard the ACC.

June: I love the fancy gala’s and I was fortunate enough to go to 2 in one night! Scrubs in the City, benefiting Sick Kids Foundation, and Powerball for the Power Plant Contemporary Art Gallery. I also had an incredible long weekend in Halifax where I was able to go kayaking with Olympian Mark de Jonge.

July: The Canadian Rugby team played my selection of Drake’s “Started from the Bottom” as their #FindYourTrack match day song and I received some fancy headphones due to my choice! Keith Urban put on a great show…but concerts are always better from box seats! Finally, I attended the Canadian Open for the first time. Watching golf in-person is fun! I suppose I was spoiled again from my view in the BMW box. Jason Day became my new favourite golfer after I won his autographed tourbag.

August: I won box seats to cheer the Blue Jays on (yes, box seats are a theme this year). Win or lose, it doesn’t matter when you’re watching the game in comfort and receiving free food and drinks! An autographed Team Canada Olympic jacket became the perfect gift for my Mom.

September:  My worst TIFF ever! I didn’t attend any screenings due to a bad cold. A few books and gift cards which come in handy as I prep for Christmas presents.

October: Another trip win! This time to Ottawa to see the Maple Leafs season debut. A long bus ride, but Auston Matthews scoring 4 goals in his first NHL game is worth it! Additionally, I attended a few events including Mill Street’s Oktoberfest, Baron Samedi’s Rum Launch Party and a lecture with David Suzuki.

November: Dinner for 10 at Chipotle? Yes, please! For the first time, I also won a Christmas tree!

December: This is the most exciting month of the year for giveaways. There are so many contests! I filled up the prize box for Christmas with a wireless speaker, coffee maker and gift baskets. My workplace was thrilled when I won a Panago Pizza Holiday Catering Party. I’m looking forward to a Toronto staycation in 2017 with my voucher for 2 nights at the Sheraton Centre!

Who knows where 2017 will take me? Hopefully, it’s the best year yet!

For more “best of” moments, check out 2015, 2014, 2013 and 2012.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Diana Powell says:

    I’m inspired by all your wins !!! I really want to make this year my best contesting year yet !! Any tips on fitting contesting into a daily routine ? Also how much time do you think should be devoted to entering daily ?

    Like

    1. erikakomori says:

      I like to enter contests in the evening when I’m watching TV…I’m already sitting down I might as well do something at the same time! You can be efficient and do it in 30 minutes a day (Monday-Friday). There are less new giveaways to enter on weekends. The only time of year it will take longer is in December because there are so many contests. Start a Word document to help keep track of giveaways you want to remember to enter daily. Hope you win something soon!

      Like

      1. Diana Powell says:

        Thank you for all the tips !! Wishing you many wins as well in the new year !!

        Like

Leave a Reply

