TIFF15

I’m late to the game, but I did attend TIFF15. I suppose my tardy post was related to not having an exceptional festival experience. Although, it would be hard to compete with 2014 when I met Dan Stevens, who played Matthew Crawley on my favourite show Downton Abbey!

This year, my one and only world premiere was Trumbo. It was an interesting film, based on a true story, and profiles Dalton Trumbo. He was one of Hollywood’s most successful screenwriters before being blacklisted for communist ties. I had no idea he had written Roman Holiday.  It’s an era that I’m mostly unfamiliar with and was eager to learn how his story would play out. Bryan Cranston, who plays Dalton Trumbo in the movie, fully immerses himself in the role which is no surprise for anyone who has watched Breaking Bad.

IMG_5482

I also attended the second screening of Maggie’s Plan. It seemed silly in comparison to Trumbo and focuses on a love triangle as the lead character falls in love with a married man. Julianne Moore is fantastic in it…yet its run time is definitely too long.

I found that many of the TIFF screening contests were for matinee times. As I was employed, they weren’t feasible to attend. It’s key to visit on opening weekend and checkout Festival Street. It’s almost a guaranteed win!

IMG_5485

In total these were my TIFF prizes:

  • 2 tickets to Trumbo
  • 4 tickets to Maggie’s Plan (I traded 2 for tickets to Black Mass which I sold for $40. Then I won run of engagement tickets for Black Mass and saw it in a VIP theatre. Contests come full circle sometimes.)
  • $25 Express gift card (text to win visiting the Express booth on King Street)
  • 2 tickets to Full Contact from the RBC booth (Being the devoted athlete that I am, I gave these away so I could participate in my softball team’s playoff game. We lost.)
  • $50 Redstone Restaurant gift card (Went to the Visa Infinite booth. Told them I had an Infinite card and asked them what they could give me? Everyone should do this!)
  • Barilla pasta from NKPR

Here’s hoping TIFF16 is more eventful!

One Comment Add yours

  1. ROSEMARY KOMORI says:

    Nice, but two corrections. 1) communist ties and 2) devoted athlete, are the correct terms.Mama   From: Winning! A Free and Fabulous Life! To: rkomori@rogers.com Sent: Monday, October 26, 2015 10:20 PM Subject: [New post] TIFF15 #yiv6199184227 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv6199184227 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv6199184227 a.yiv6199184227primaryactionlink:link, #yiv6199184227 a.yiv6199184227primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv6199184227 a.yiv6199184227primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv6199184227 a.yiv6199184227primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv6199184227 WordPress.com | erikakomori posted: “I’m late to the game, but I did attend TIFF15. I suppose my tardy post was related to not having an exceptional festival experience. Although, it would be hard to compete with 2014 when I met Dan Stevens, who played Matthew Crawley on my favourite show Do” | |

    Like

Leave a Reply

