Best of 2014

2014 has come to a close so it’s time for an annual review of my contest wins….drum roll please….

I won 107 contests, worth over $13,000 in value, last year! This brings my total to greater than $80,000 since I first started in 2010!

As 2015 begins, I thought I would reflect upon my most memorable experiences from the past year.

2014 collage

January: After the holidays, this is usually a slow contesting month but I still won many useful items such as fragrances, movie tickets and restaurant gift cards. I also won a few presents that I later gave to my family such as a Leafs jersey for my brother and a Roots handbag for my mom.

February: This was the first time I leveraged Valentine’s Day contests. I ended up with a VIP Audi experience, which included a chauffeur for the night, and a fancy free dinner at Bymark! I won another Valentine’s giveaway from HMV for $100 to The Keg and 2 movie tickets.

March: Of course I had to attend Fashion Week and received Sid Neigum tickets. I also won stylish Bang & Olufson headphones and a basket full of Indian food. I’ll take it!

April: I saved a few dollars by winning David Guetta tickets for my brother’s birthday. A night at the Strathcona hotel, shopping at Vero Moda and a Californian wine event made it a satisfactory month.

May: “All of Me” by John Legend was one of my fav songs of 2014. Winning a meet and greet with him was pretty awesome…then getting to sit onstage with John for the entire concert?!? Definitely one of my all-time best contesting moments.

June: A private yacht experience in the Toronto Islands gave me a new appreciation for the city. I’m all about the charity gala events and attended Pants Off for Prostate cancer and won great seats to see the Blue Jays.

July: For the first time, I invited my entire extended family for a BBQ at my house. I was just going to wing it and hope for the best…and then I won $300 worth of food from Longo’s! Good karma! Hanging with NHL stars at Smashfest was also delightful.

August: I won a crazy prize for the CNE. 12 admission passes and 12 zip-lining tickets! Let’s just say I almost got over my fear of heights with the amount of times I attended. I also loved the Open Roof Festival in Liberty Village; a great way to see a movie!

September:  This was probably my most lucrative month of the year. I went on the last ever run of SkyRider at Canada’s Wonderland before it closed (and received a roller coaster wheel as a memory). I got my country music game on with Jason Aldean, Florida Georgia Line and the Zac Brown Band. Last, but not least, TIFF!!! My Downton Abbey dreams came true meeting Matthew Crawley (aka Dan Stevens), I won numerous tickets to TIFF screenings and a $200 gift card from the Visa Infinite booth!

October: A VIP winery tour with Tony Aspler in the Niagara region was a beautiful autumn day. The Boobyball had an amazing swag bag and I received even more freebies through sitting 2nd row for a night of shows at WMCFW. Another tour, with Brampton firefighters, was also memorable. Let’s just say that it involved a fire pole, emergency room and surgery for a friend that I invited…

November: Dinner for 8 at Mandarin was a hit with my brother and his friends. I also attended the Coors Light Silver Seats Tailgate Experience with the Buffalo Bills. Note to self: It is freezing cold in Buffalo and football is played outdoors.

December: The prize box was full and I barely had to spend any money on Christmas presents! I ended the year with my very first executive suite experience at the Air Canada Centre, to watch the Toronto Raptors, and felt like a true VIP. Now, I just need to win court side seats….

Who knows where 2015 will take me? Positive vibes!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Rosemary Komori says:

    You shall have to change it to “30 something”. Best of luck in 2015 Erika !

    Mama

    Like

Leave a Reply

