Smashfest

On a beautiful Thursday night, I made the trek to Toronto for a fabulous event called Smashfest. Started by Dominic Moore, it’s an annual fundraiser that raises money for concussion and rare cancer research. Why the name? Well, attendees get the chance to mingle with current and former NHL players….and watch them aspire for ping-pong glory! Here are a few pictures from my night….

Arriving at Steam Whistle for the event! photo 1 (20)

Attendees getting a chance to practice before the ping-pong tournament started. photo 2 (18)

Current and former NHL players who have participated in Smashfest.photo 3 (14)

If you’ve grown up in a hockey environment, everyone knows somebody who knows somebody that’s in the NHL. Tyler Seguin is one of those guys. I told my brother I would get a pic of his “favourite” player. We both know people who are friends with him. photo 1 (19)

Mats Sundin was my hockey idol when I was younger…but I still had a Mike Johnson poster in my room so it was a thrill to meet him! photo 2 (17)photo 4 (8)

The super friendly Cabbie Richards. He’s just as nice as he is on TV. IMG_0577.JPG

Thumbs up for Tyler Seguin!photo 4 (7)

Check out the Katie Moore Foundation and the Steve Moore Foundation if you’re interested in learning more about the causes Smashfest was raising funds for!

Leave a Reply

