Best of 2013

2013 has come to a close so it’s time for an annual review of my contest wins….drum roll please….

I won 213 contests, worth over $25,000 in value, last year! This brings my total to greater than $70,000 since I first started in 2010!

As 2014 begins, I thought I would reflect upon my most memorable experiences from the past year.

2013 Collage

January: After the holidays, this is usually a slow contesting month but I still won many useful items such as cosmetics, books and movie tickets. However, I had the pleasure of meeting Hannah Sung from the Globe and Mail and I was able to share my story with more Canadians! What a pleasure!

February: I’ve always been a Leafs fan, so it was great to skate at the ACC with Leafs Alumni and Joffrey Lupul. VIP tickets to Swedish House Mafia enabled me to attend my first electronic music concert as well. I also won my first video entry contest and received a Sully Wong bag, New Balance shoes, Sennheiser headphones and Nespresso Machine from The Loop.

March: Although I wasn’t a model this time around, I still had fun catching notable shows at Fashion Week such as Joe Fresh, Mackage and KORHANI. One of my childhood dreams came true when I saw my first Disney on Ice performance. Perhaps I was one of the few audience members without kids, but I thought it was a great show!

April: Ancient Prom at the ROM provided me the opportunity to party with all the glitz and glam alongside Toronto’s finest. However, sitting in the first row for Stars on Ice was phenomenal! My friend still chuckles that she shook Kurt Browning’s hand!

May: Sometimes you need a little motivation during a job search, so it was a thrill to meet Jillian Michaels and attend her show. I gained even greater perspective through winning a team entry for Motionball’s Toronto Marathon of Sport. Playing games with Special Olympians was a true honour!

June: $1500 in Visa gift cards definitely helped pay some bills but I wasn’t the only one in the family who was delighted…my cat won a year’s supply of food through Chatelaine’s “Cat-elaine” contest. I also heard Hillary Clinton speak which will be even more impressive if she runs for President in the future. One of my favourite quote’s from her that night was “Dare to compete.”

July: My brother and Dad always encourage me to enter golf contests. I was fortunate enough to win golf for 4 and dinner at Willow Valley Golf Course through K-Lite FM. As long as you’re in listening radius, enter all radio giveaways online!

August: Front row is becoming almost common as I sat here to watch Toronto FC. I also won VIP tickets to Tim McGraw and Kenny Chesney. Last but not least, I heard Tony Robbins give one of his rousing speeches. I may or may not have been jumping up and down with the rest of the crowd.

September:  Oh TIFF. Every year, you pull through for me. I won tickets to 4 movies, including 2 gala screenings (I saw Harry Potter in the flesh!) These contests included gift cards too! I can attest that all of the clothes I bought this year were free through these wonderful cards.

October: I’m a big fan of the NBA, but living in Canada you rarely hear about the WNBA. It was a thrill to attend Fashion Week shows with fellow Canadian, and former WNBA All-Star, Tammy Sutton-Brown. She was kind and down-to-earth; a real role model for younger girls that anything is possible!

November: What’s it like to stay at a 5-star hotel? Glorious. I was at Drake’s former home, The Hazelton Hotel, and experienced all of the luxury. Heated bathroom floors and eucalyptus steam rooms are now a few of my favourite things! I also attended several fantastic fundraising events such as Bloor Street Entertains, The Frocktail Party and Viva La Diva Night at the Oscars!

December: I sat 2nd row for a Raptors game and am now channeling the courtside vibes. Down by 20, I was clapping away because with that view I didn’t even care about the loss! I also secured all of my Christmas presents with a few more gift card wins. To top it off, I ended 2013 with tickets to The Trump Hotel’s Twelfth Hour New Year’s Eve party!

With my biggest year of winning to date, this really was a small sample of all that contests offered.

Who knows where 2014 will take me? Happy New Year!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

