#TIFF12

This was my second time attending TIFF and I knew I could do a better job of leveraging contests this year. Twitter was a gem! I was literally in Toronto almost every single day attending a movie, concert or party!

Movies – I loved the diversity in all of the films I watched. I ended up seeing What Maisie Knew, To the Wonder, The Sessions, Emperor and Song for Marion. Each captured relationships in a different way and definitely caused you to reflect on your own life. However, To the Wonder was my least favourite screening due to its lack of dialogue. Perhaps, I need to be a former film student to “get it”.

Concerts – Lauryn Hill was in town for an intimate performance benefiting the ONEXONE foundation. She definitely still has a stage presence and exceeded expectations! Jason Mraz also had an amazing concert at Molson Amphitheatre! Finally, I lucked out with 4 lawn deck seats for the City & Colour show. Lawn deck = incredible.

Parties – I started TIFF off right by attending a pre-TIFF party hosted by SKYY Vodka. The alley setting had a blue theme and the Good As Gosling drink was fab. I also attended the official TIFF fundraiser at Corus Quay. The James Bond set design was amazing and made for a memorable red carpet. Unfortunately, they couldn’t attract the star power they had hoped for. Finally, I ended TIFF on a high at the Closing Gala at Roy Thompson Hall. British fare was served but I couldn’t resist Marble Slab Creamery. I may have been sick later but it was worth it to ask for all of the toppings.

Aryka’s Advice: Twitter had the best odds of winning tickets. By searching “TIFF12 win” or “TIFF12 contest” numerous promotions could easily be found.

Leave a Reply

